National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners 1101 Vermont Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20005

PRESS RELEASE



For Immediate Release: Contact: Rob Thormeyer **Nov. 17, 2010** 202-898-9382,

rthormeyer@naruc.org

North Dakota's Tony Clark Elected to Lead National Regulatory Organization

ATLANTA—North Dakota Public Service Commissioner Tony Clark today officially became the leader of the national association representing State utility regulators across the country.

At the conclusion of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners' 122nd Annual Meeting here, the more than 150 State commissioners in attendance elected Commissioner Clark as President of the Association. Commissioner Clark succeeds outgoing NARUC President David Coen of Vermont, whose term expired today. Under NARUC bylaws, Association presidents serve one-year terms.

"I am honored to be elected by my peers to lead this Association," President Clark said. "As we confront the many challenges in the coming months and years, we must communicate openly with our consumers, stakeholders, and each other. We will have tough decisions to make in the near term. We must be clear about the uncertainties we face, and I want to arm our members with the ability to respond to these challenges effectively and transparently."

As President, Commissioner Clark will provide general oversight of the Association, which represents the State public service commissioners who regulate essential utility services, such as electricity, telecommunications, gas, water, and transportation. In this role, President Clark will serve as the primary voice of the Association, leading NARUC before Congress, the courts, and administrative agencies. He will also be responsible for designating members to the NARUC Board of Directors, committee leadership positions, and other Association appointments as necessary.

President Clark was elected to the North Dakota Public Service Commission in 2000 and won reelection in 2006. Within NARUC, he has served as chairman of the Association's Telecommunications Committee from 2005-2008. He is also a member of the Executive Committee, the Board of Directors, the Electricity Committee, and the Task Force on Climate Policy. President Clark also serves on the Board of Directors of the National Regulatory Research Institute.

Prior to his election to the PSC, President Clark was Labor Commissioner in the cabinet of former North Dakota Gov. Ed Schafer. From 1997-99 he was Administrative Officer for the State Tax Department. He is a former State legislator, representing Fargo in the State House from 1994-97. President Clark is a graduate of Fargo North High School and holds Bachelor's degrees from North Dakota State University. He holds a Master's degree in public administration from the University of North Dakota.

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 whose members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate

telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interests of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government.